I’m Everyone’s Type

As I sat at a cafe by my house, I observed two people next to me. It seemed like a first date. The dynamic was interesting, because the guy was Korean American so a native English speaker. But the girl was Korean and she was clearly more comfortable speaking Korean. Both stuck with their native languages for the most part, but they understood each other. I can’t imagine starting a relationship with a language barrier. I barely communicate effectively with people that speak English.

He would sit there trying to be as smooth as possible. She would giggle and touch her hair. And then I thought to myself, is that what I look like?! Probably. I’m not going to deny it, because I’m sure that’s exactly what I do. Probably worse. I giggle and laugh, smile and subtly touch his arm. Make him think he’s the funniest person I’ve ever met, when I’m sure I’m funnier. The crap I do for love.

I talk about things like zombies and Game of Thrones to weed out the ones that don’t share the same interests. I want to save myself some time. There’s a lot of fish in the sea, and I need to sort through them as quickly as possible before the good ones are taken.

And then I think to myself, I wonder if they’re weeding me out too. I wonder what they’re looking for. But then again, I don’t really care. I’m everyone’s type  😉

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

