Kids Are Okay

Why is there a stigma against women who don’t really like kids? Yesterday, I was talking to some people and everything was going great until we started talking about babies and kids.

One of the girls is a full-time nanny for a toddler and 2 twin infants. I expressed my concern and unappeal for being around kids for that long, especially kids that aren’t mine. The liability, the crying, the wining, and brattiness. I wouldn’t know how to discipline them and I didn’t want to be in a situation where I needed to be authoritative, but was actually helpless.

Then everyone looked at me and said, “You don’t like kids?!”
I explained, “It’s not that I don’t like them. I just don’t LOVE them like some people. I don’t stop strangers and ask them if I can hold their baby. I smile and walk away.”

They looked at me like I betrayed the human race and I’m a shame to all women and mothers around the world. So because I’m a woman, I should have a biological attraction to ALL babies and children no matter what, and since I don’t, something definitely must be wrong with me..? Fuck off. I didn’t say I like to go around kicking babies for fun. I said I just don’t drool and die over the sight of every single 2-year-old that walks by me.

Do I want kids one day? Yes.
Is the sole purpose of my entire life to be a mother and if I never have kids I’ll kill myself? No.

 

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

