I’ve Had Quite a Few Affairs

Traveling to me is like a romantic comedy where I leave behind love affairs that don’t quite work out.  Chicago was my first love. It will always be in my heart and the one I currently stand by because it’s familiar, comfortable, and feels like home. However, a few years ago, it started to feel like a stale, longterm relationship, so I found myself adventuring out.

I lived in Australia for a bit, but it just felt like Canada’s long lost cousin. Everyone’s nice, nature is beautiful, but it’s kind of boring. So I left and didn’t look back.

South Korea was my next affair.  So much fun, too much fun. Japan, Korea’s step brother is right around the corner to spice things up even more. But the hyper, fast-paced culture and no work-life balance wears on you and I couldn’t see longterm.

New York is the last mistress I had and the one I fell in love with. The one I still think about from time to time. The one that saw potential in me, pushed me to become the person I am today. But with passionate love comes a lot of highs and lows and I wasn’t sure if the lows would be worth it in the end.

So here I am back in Chicago, rediscovering something I had long ago. I’m learning new things about the city, and I definitely appreciate it a lot more now. Good food, good people, family, friends, loved ones, midwestern morals, and an active culture. Chicago, the heart of America. What more could I ask for?

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

