I Have No Depth Perception

I have no hand-eye coordination, I have no depth perception, and I can’t keep a beat. These three traits of mine (or lack of) have made me the clumsiest, most uncoordinated human on Earth. How does this translate to the real world? I can’t play any sports, I can’t play an instrument, and I can’t clap on time.

It frustrates me when people say, “Just practice more, try harder.” Shut up. I can’t develop a part of myself I wasn’t born with. It’s like telling someone who has no taste in fashion to go be a fashion designer. They can take all the classes, attend the schools, and practice as much as they want, but that “eye” for fashion will never develop if they weren’t born with it.

Instead of always pointing out the flaws and lack of ability in one area, we should look at the gifts and talents we do have. No, I will never be able to surf or sing but guess what, I can write, analyze social phenomena, and make you laugh. That’s something, right?

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

