Tiffany’s & eBay

I’ve been working on an article about the luxury market, branding, and luxury consumption and it’s quite ironic how I’ve found myself in such a ridiculous situation.

I just sold my Tiffany & Co. necklace on this thing called eBay, you know, where people sell and buy other people’s crap. I’ve been trying to sell it for a while so I was ecstatic when someone offered to pay the full asking price.

I literally sold my necklace for a fraction of the retail price, but I was just glad to sell it and still have some money left over after all those eBay fees, Paypal fees, postage fees and whatever other fees are in the fine line (probably for breathing and being human).

As a I jumped for joy and basked in my satisfaction, I received a message from the buyer asking for a refund. Wtf..? When I opened the message, she claimed that “it was obviously fake” because the chain links were “misshaped.”

I was so shocked that I had to read it twice just to make sure I read it correctly. As someone who went to school for fashion, I just couldn’t believe the audacity and ignorance of this person. She obviously hasn’t seen a real Tiffany’s necklace before. Otherwise, she would know that the chain is correctly shaped and the “misshaped” links are actually an intentional design so that it lays flat when you wear it.

This is my first time selling on eBay, and just a word of advice to anyone who buys or sells on there: Walk into a fucking store and check out the real stuff before buying or selling anything online. It’s great that there’s all these articles on “How to spot a fake” but those articles are only useful as supplements to actual knowledge of the product. Also, those article are written by people who are not affiliated with the actual brand, usually trying to sell their own crap, so take it with a grain of salt.

Receiving that email was like slapping the face of a Tiffany’s employee and telling her that the jewelry she’s selling is fake because it looks different than what you imagined or read online. How ridiculous and embarrassing is this scenario. Smh.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

