Emojis

I love emojis because they make such a big difference in the world of digital communication.

First of all, let’s clear up the difference between emojis and emoticons.
1. Emojis are pictures 😁😒💩
2. Emoticons are made of symbols : )

Emoticons were awesome, but emojis heightened them to a whole new level that wasn’t possible with just typography.

I use a texting/chatting app called KakaoTalk, which is seriously one of the greatest apps ever. It’s a free app that uses wifi/data and it has amazing emojis that capture everything I’ve ever felt. KakaoTalk made emojis even better with animated emojis that move and dance. They have 4 sets of emojis that come with the app and seasonal ones that are available throughout the year. If you want more options, they have hundreds available for purchase. You can change the theme of your chatrooms, personalize people’s names, group chat seamlessly, send pictures/videos, and so much more.

IMG_0006

IMG_0005

I’ve used this app for so many years that I’ve grown accustomed to everything I love about it. However, recently I went on a road trip where data was limited and there was no wifi. I was stuck using my phone’s stock text messages.

Omg what a dull transition. I felt like I had downgraded from a 4 star hotel to a 1 star motel with no tv, fridge, or shampoo. Just a bar of soap and one bed.

The emojis that come with iPhone’s text messaging/iMessaging app are so one dimensional. There are so many emojis but so little that I’d actually use. I never even scroll to the Travel & Places section because honestly, when will I ever need 30 different emojis that all represent transportation..

Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 3.22.18 PMScreen Shot 2015-09-10 at 3.21.47 PM Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 3.21.27 PMAnd then there’s all these random ones like moon phases and symbols I’ve never even seen before in my life.

Now that I’m back home, I’m so glad to have data/wifi back. I felt like my friends weren’t grasping my emotions to the fullest extent. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. If that’s true, emojis are worth a thousand words, my entire heart and soul, and a little more.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

