The Lying Game

Why do people lie? To make people feel better? To make themselves feel better? To make themselves look better? Seem cooler? To protect people? Protect themselves?

My biggest pet peeve was always liars. I hated people who lied, because I couldn’t stand the pain they caused. I didn’t understand why people lied, and I believed that the hurtful truth was always better than a sugar-coated lie.

Now that I’m older, I see the naivety in my younger self. Now, I see that sometimes when people lie, they’re not lying to me but they’re lying to themselves. They don’t want to admit the truth to themself so they lie out loud.

I don’t feel hurt by them anymore. I try to empathize with them. I try to care. Because I’m not the victim anymore. They are.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

